Incognito wallet and staking ?

Hi, I am new to Incognito and just wanted to ask how I can stake Bitcoins using the app, for an example? Will staking be available using the web based wallet of the Incognito wallet. And what about not your keys, not your coins phrase, in regard to staking with Incognito? What solution is or can be implemented to assure the users they own the keys and not any third party?

@Jared

1 Like

Hello @qapofa and welcome to the Incognito community,

Staking can be done in 2 different ways on the app. Either via Provide (More tab > Provide) or via the Earn tab.

Provide allows users to provide single-sided liquidity, however, this is a feature offered by Incognito and therefore is centralized by design. Funds are sent from your wallet to the pool that you are providing to. From there those funds are either used to provide liquidity or spin up vNodes to help strengthen and secure the network. Interest rates in provide can vary unless using the locked-in periods.

The earn tab allows users to provide two-sided liquidity and is on the blockchain so not centralized.

When the web wallet is available we plan to eventually have all app functionalities available. Due to the complexity, this most likely will be done in phases with not everything available at the very beginning.

All source code for Incognito’s blockchain, app, bridges, etc are open source and can be found and reviewed on our GitHub: https://github.com/incognitochain/

3 Likes

@Jared
Thank you for the detailed explanation.My question is let’s say I am a Bitcoin miner and I am looking to stake my Bitcoins. Why would I deposit my bitcoins in an Incognito wallet and not in a DeFi wallet? If I have understood correctly the interest is paid in your own coin and not in the cryptocurrency which was deposited. That seems like a major disadvantage. Note that I am looking to help the Incognito community.

Privacy is key point of differentiation.

2 Likes