trust levels

Like many other forum-based community sites, Incognito operates according to trust levels. The following system is essential to guard against spam, protect our community, and ensure the quality of conversation remains high.

Trust Level 0 — New

By default, all new users start out at trust level 0, meaning trust has yet to be earned. These are visitors who just created an account, and are still learning how Incognito works.

Users at trust level 0 cannot:

  • Flag posts
  • Have actual links in the ‘about me’ field of their profile (will be silently and temporarily converted to plain text)
  • Mention more than 2 users in a post
  • Post more than 3 topics
  • Post more than 10 replies
  • Edit their own posts after more than 24 hours

Trust Level 1 — Basic

Reading is fundamental. Get familiar with the site, the project, and your new community, and you’ll quickly be granted the first Trust Level.

Get there by:

  • Entering at least 5 topics
  • Reading at least 30 posts
  • Spend a total of 30 minutes reading posts

At Trust Level 1, you can:

  • Edit wiki posts
  • Flag posts
  • Mute other users
  • Vote on feature requests

Trust Level 2 — Member

Thank you for reading, interacting, and contributing. You’re awesome. And you’re now officially a member of the Incognito community!

Become a member and earn trust level 2 by:

  • Visiting at least 15 days, not sequentially
  • Casting at least 1 like
  • Receiving at least 1 like
  • Replying to at least 3 different topics
  • Entering at least 20 topics
  • Reading at least 100 posts
  • Spend a total of 60 minutes reading posts

Now that you’re a member, you can:

  • Use the “Invite others to this topic” button for one-click onboarding of new users to participate in topics
  • Invite outside users to PMs making a group PM
  • Daily like limit increased by 1.5×
  • Ignore other users
  • Edit your own posts for up to 30 days after posting
  • Vote on feature requests

Trust Level 3 — Regular

You’re the heart of Incognito. As an active reader and reliable contributor, the community trusts and respects you. If you wish, you can now help to tidy up the conversation and organize the community.

Unlike the previous trust levels, L3 is dynamic, and is granted depending on your activity over the last 100 days.

In those 100 days, you:

  • Must have visited at least 50% of days
  • Must have replied to at least 10 different non-PM topics
  • Of topics created in the last 100 days, must have viewed 20% (capped at 500)
  • Of posts created in the last 100 days, must have read 20% (capped at 20k)
  • Must have received 20 likes, and given 30 likes. (These likes must be from more than 1/5 of total users, across at least 1/4 of total days. Likes cannot be from PMs)
  • Must not have received more than 5 spam or offensive flags (with unique posts and unique users for each, confirmed by a moderator)
  • Must not have been suspended or silenced

If you dip below these requirements in the last 100 days, you will be demoted to Member. However, in order to avoid constant promotion/demotion situations, there is a 2-week grace period immediately after gaining Trust Level 3 during which you will not be demoted.

Regulars can:

  • Recategorize and rename topics
  • Have all their links followed
  • TL3 spam flags cast on TL0 user posts immediately hide the post
  • TL3 flags cast on TL0 user posts in sufficient diversity will auto-silence the user and hide all their posts
  • Make their own posts wiki (that is, editable by any TL1+ users)
  • Daily like limit increased by 2×
  • Vote on feature requests
  • Vote on builder rewards

You can view your current trust level by accessing the badges page in your profile, or by replacing ‘yourusername’ with your website username via this link:

Welcome to the community! If you have any questions, feel free to post a reply to this topic.